Standing Committee

Article IV of the Constitution and Canons of The Episcopal Church require that “In every Diocese, a Standing Committee shall be elected by the Convention.” The responsibilities of the Standing Committee are very broad and involve every aspect of the church. The Standing Committee functions as the “Bishop’s Council of Advice,” and in the absence of a Bishop is the ecclesiastical authority in the diocese. A bishop’s election cannot be confirmed without the consent of the majority of the Standing Committees in the Episcopal Church, nor can a Deacon or Priest be ordained without the consent of the Standing Committee. In matters of property, the consent of the Standing Committee is required before any church property can be bought or sold.

In the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania, the Standing Committee comprises six members from the clergy order (two of which may be deacons) and six members from the lay order. Members are elected at the Diocesan Convention for a term of three years, although they may be elected for a further three-year term to run consecutively.

For more information contact:

Standing Committee
Episcopal Diocese of Central Pennsylvania


Drew Dorgan (2020)
411 Hilltop Road
Strasburg, PA 17579

Vice President:

The Rev. Jeffrey Packard (2021)
4386 Halfmoon Valley Rd
Warriors Mark, PA 16877


The Rev. Michael Nailor (2021)
651 5th Street
Northumberland, PA 17857

Anthony C. Alexander (2020)
3208 Penbrook Ave.
Harrisburg, PA 17109

The Rev. Veronica Chappell (2022)
1118 Route 973 E
Cogan Station, PA 17728

Kathy Hettinga (2022)
360 Franklin Church Road
Dillsburg, PA  17019

Susan Landin  (2021)
551 W. Lemon Street
Lancaster, PA  17603

Nicolette Norris (2022)
370 Carter Moir Drive
Lancaster, PA 17601

The Rev. Patrick Pierce (2020)
233 Merriweather Dr
Chambersburg, PA 17201

The Rev. Jim Strader-Sasser (2020)
125 E. Main Street
Bloomsburg, PA 17815

The Rev. Greg Welin (2022)
125 N. 25th Street
Camp Hill, PA 17011

John Wolgemuth (2021)
118 West Spruce St.
Palmyra, PA 17078


Standing Committee Forms

Standing Committee Testimonial Candidate Form

Standing Committee Testimonial Ordination Diaconate Form

Standing Committee Testimonial Ordination Priest Form


Meeting Minutes






Resources for: Children | Youth | Young Adults